Regional & International Cooperation

US, Australia, Japan and India to establish new Quad alliance

by Azerbaycan24

The United States, Australia, Japan, and India have agreed to establish a Quad. Quad Leaders vowed to pursue a free and open Indo-Pacific region “undaunted by coercion” at their first in-person summit, which presented a united front amid shared concerns about China.

“We stand for the rule of law, freedom of navigation and overflight, peaceful resolution of disputes, democratic values, and territorial integrity of states,” U.S. President Joe Biden, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Japanese Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga, and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi said in a joint statement after the talks.

“Together, we recommit to promoting the free, open, rules-based order, rooted in international law and undaunted by coercion, to bolster security and prosperity in the Indo-Pacific and beyond,” they said.

Note that the United States, Great Britain, and Australia have created a format called AUKUS. China and the European Union have objected to the union.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button