Latest News

Norway suspends its participation in the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe

by teleSUR

On Tuesday, the government of Norway decided on Tuesday to temporarily suspend its participation in the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (CFE) in response to Russia’s withdrawal from the pact.


Sami Language Week Kicks Off in Norway

Oslo condemned Russia’s decision, which it said “undermined the European security architecture, which has been the cornerstone of stability in Europe since the Cold War.”

The government said it will continuously assess the duration of the suspension in consultation with its allies and Nordic neighbors.

At the end of May, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a law on the denunciation of the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe.

On that occasion, Kremlin spokesperson Dmitry Peskov said that Russia’s denunciation of the CFE will have no direct impact because the mechanism has been non-working for a long time. Russia formally withdrew from the CFE at 12 midnight Tuesday.

The CFE was signed in 1990 by the Warsaw Treaty Organization and 16 NATO member states, namely, Belgium, Britain, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, United States, and Turkey.

The pact was aimed at establishing a balance between the two military alliances by setting limits on the quantities of weapons and military equipment that all parties were allowed to amass.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button