Situation in Afghanistan

Taliban declares new Afghanistan government

by Sputnik News

The Taliban* has named those who will hold key ministerial posts in Afghanistan’s new government following the movement’s takeover of the country. Mullah Mohammad Hasan Akhund will become the prime minister in the new government. He served as deputy prime minister in the Taliban government in Afghanistan prior to the US invasion.
Meanwhile, Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar has become acting deputy prime minister, with Mohammad Yaqoob, the deputy Taliban leader and son of the movement’s founder, receiving the post of acting defence minister in Hasan Akhund’s government. Abdul Salam Hanafi has been made the second deputy to Prime Minister Akhund. Amir Khan Muttaqi, in turn, has received the post of acting foreign minister in the new Afghan Cabinet.
One of the two deputies of the Taliban’s supreme commander, Sirajuddin Haqqani, has been appointed acting interior minister of Afghanistan. He is suspected of organising a series of bombings in Kabul in 2008 and plotting the assassination of then-Afghan President Hamid Karzai. Sirajuddin Haqqani is also wanted by the FBI over the January 2008 bombing, which killed an American citizen.
The movement’s spokesperson also revealed the key figures in the economic and financial part of the government, with Qari Din Mohammad Hanif taking over as acting economy minister, Mohammad Idris as head of Afghanistan’s Central Bank, and Hedayatullah Badri as acting finance minister.

Justice, Education, Immigration, and Other Ministers

Mawlawi Abdul Hakim Sharie has been named acting minister of justice, and Abdul Haq Wasiq has received the post of acting director of intelligence. Ahmad Jan Ahmady will serve as the acting director of the Administrative Office of the President.
Sheikh Mawlawi Noorullah has been awarded the office of acting education minister, while Abdul Baqi Haqqani will be filling the role of the country’s minister of higher education. Mullah Khairullah Khairkhah, in turn, will become acting minister for information and culture.
Mawlawi Noor Mohammad Saqib will be put in charge of managing Hajj and religious affairs in Akhund’s government, and Mullah Noorullah Noori will be dealing with borders and tribal affairs. Additionally, Khalilurahman Haqqani will be appointed acting minister of refugees.
The Taliban spokesperson also revealed the names of six other acting ministers: Mullah Mohammad Younus Akhundzada will be appointed minister of rural rehabilitation and development, Mullah Abdul Manan Omari will get the post of acting minister of public work, Mullah Mohammad Esa Akhund will be assigned the role of minister of mines and petroleum. Mullah Abdul Latif Mansoor is getting the office of acting minister of water and energy, while Mullah Hamidullah Akhundzada will become acting minister of civil aviation and transport in the Hassan Akhund government. Lastly, Najibullah Haqqani will be named Afghanistan’s acting minister of telecommunication.
Read the full story on Sputnik News

Sputnik News
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button